infant sleep · kid behavior · managing kids · toddler parenting

How to make your infant sleep at night in 5 easy steps?

Hello, dear friends!

We all know this is one of the most debated issues over the centuries to put a baby to sleep during the night. And I know you would be very eager in knowing the way of making your baby sleep in the night so that you can rest as well.

Dear new mommies, I would be sounding very harsh if I will say that there is no way out for an infant up to 2 months to make him sleep in the night. You have to darken your dark circles for feeding your baby N number of times during the night. I am not scaring would be mommies either! But what I am going to share with you is my personal experience of putting my baby to sleep in the night, and how I did that daily!

I have read many articles and theories over a period of time for making my baby sleep during the night, as all other babies, my infant was also the same who don’t like to miss his night climax of every day. I being a new mommy was unable to deal with my pain and suffering and a feeling of being a mommy! I must say, it takes a time to understand the nature of dealing we have to give to these small creatures of just 5-8 pounds! And these stubborn little creatures don’t even understand the language, how to make them realize that nights are meant for sleeping! So, I read many theories, but all in vain. Here I must tell you that there are theories like let your baby cry and he will fall asleep once tired. I am not criticizing anyone but this is very dangerous to let the baby cry alone because what pediatricians suggest is never let your infant be alone during panic as it may lead to Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS).

Then what could be the better ways to make them sleep? Here are few of my trial and tested methods which used to make my baby sleep in no time. And  I followed them until my little bundle of joy learned to sleep in the night.

1. Massage:

Give your infant/toddler a good body massage before going to bed. Babies love the soft touch of his mother and massage soothes their body. It is also good for their blood circulation. But before giving massage you must ensure the oil you are using and the weather. If it is winter than the oil should be luke warm. Always give body massage in a closed room without any fan or Air-Condition on. A soft massage in his head and on the back helps baby to relax and sleep.

2. Tickling:

Yes, tickling slowly on baby arms, legs or on forehead gives a soothing effect and your little champ will go to sleep in no time.sleeping baby

3. Fun Activities:

If you are having a toddler then this method can be tried. Let you and your baby mess up the bedroom like his favorite play area. Let your baby play hard and let him get tired so that he will fall asleep.

4. Story telling session:

Start a story telling session with your child, soon he will start enjoying the stories and you will find that he falls asleep during the story telling session.sleeping girl

5. Putting all lights off:

This played a vital role in making my kid learn to fall asleep in the night. I used to put all lights off, not even the night lamp. And what I realized is, as the lights are off my baby is also in his dreams.child in dreams

I hope you will find these useful in making your child sleep. One thing that needs to ensure about baby sleep is they must not be hungry, you cannot put a hungry child to sleep. And he must not be having any health issue like stomach upset because babies do get this problem very often and it will be difficult to get them to sleep in such situation. Therefore you must be sure about the reason why your child doesn’t want to sleep.

Please comment if you like my post and also share your experience of getting your child to sleep in the night and how you make them learn it.

 

Leave a Reply

